Loco’s Grill was a common destination of my work crew during the early 2000s. I’ve been trying to find our old eatery online without luck. Perhaps it has closed in the meantime. However, a new Loco’s has opened in Lawrenceville, at the corner of 5 Forks Trickum and Sugarloaf Parkway. I managed to eat there for lunch recently.

Inside, the Lawrenceville Loco’s is a comfortable place. The original emphasis was on sandwiches, and Loco’s used to to be called Deli and Pub, as opposed to Grill and Pub. They have added entrées now, and are positioned in the restaurant food chain roughly where Chili’s used to be, back in the early 1990s. I’ve always thought that a good place to be.

They place a huge emphasis on their wings. They still have a decent selection of burgers and sandwiches. A half dozen entrées sprinkle their menu. You can spend $8 if you like, or $15. There isn’t any sell-up on the menu, the way “that other chain” does now.

This location is roomy, and has excellent hours. They have a bar, with about 8 good beers on tap. It would be easy for a crowd of coworkers to come into the venue, kick their shoes off, get a drink, and eat without breaking a budget.

The sandwiches are good. The hot Italian I tried had plenty of flavor. I thought the side salad pretty dinky, and not really worth the additional $2.00 it cost to get it. I’d rather have the grilled vegetables, which I could have had for free. But in Loco’s defense, everyone rips customers off just for lettuce these days.

As I was exiting the lot, a couple folks came up to greet me. I rolled down the window of my car, and they started walking towards me. Someone must have been feeding them.

Verdict: Comfortable, relatively inexpensive, suited to large groups. Decent sandwiches. Recommended.

Loco’s Grill and Pub
3370 Sugarloaf Parkway
Lawrenceville, GA 30044

Loco's Grill and Pub on Urbanspoon

