Got up this morning and wasn’t happy with the site. Not that anything was wrong, but it seemed to lack pizzaz. Now part of that is deliberate. I dislike cluttered, unreadable sites whose functional text area is the size of a postage stamp. I want my articles to be central to the experience of reading  this blog.  Still, there is more to me than just the classic IT salaryman, and some of that diversity needs to be pointed out. Seeing a sizable exotic tag (“Chamorro”, for example) might help.

Further, I’m updating the “Shopping” page with items I’ve found useful in my exchange diet. That means “Shopping” is no longer just a list of grains. To a surprising extent, grains and omega 3 balance are at odds with one another. Abuse of grains and grain-derived oils is central to the whole omega 6 imbalance in the typical Western diet. Yes, that means you should avoid canola and cottonseed oils in your cans of fish.

I’ve been #1 on US the past couple weeks. An explanation is that almost all the other bloggers had ratings based on Antico Pizza Napolitano, and as it falls off the “hot” list on US, my relative  ranking improves. That’s not the only issue but it’s the most obvious of them. Frankly, I’ve always liked that the top 4 or 5 was a pot constantly stirred. As a site catches some good reviews, it gets hot and rises. A site will fall as other things  (school, life, work, marriage) get in the way.

Oh yes, and clueless me finally realized that Jon Watson of the AJC was the blogger Live To Feast, whom I have met. duh. OU, as a colleague pointed out, is the Kosher symbol. duh.

One note in general are the smaller number of comments per article posted. This seems true across all the Atlanta food blogs. It would be scary if blogging becomes a write only profession, and loses its interaction. Some of my best readers have been bloggers  themselves: are they just growing apart? Wearing out? Interests diverging? Food blogging hasn’t stopped by any measure, it seems to be accelerating, if anything.  But as the readers become writers, and 50-something Atlanta blogs become something closer to 150, perhaps weariness sets in.

