Jimmy John’s is a 27 year old Illinois chain, established, according to their literature, “to add to students GPA and general dating ability.” They feature sandwiches for the most part, and the ability to deliver sandwiches to a location. They have good looking breads, and large breads at that. And they are open past 3 pm, which means I could have my mid evening meal with them.

They’re on Roswell Road, a bit north of Hammond, on the west side of the street. This means, because of traffic, you would be best to get to them traveling south. Their storefront is modest, part of a small strip mall, and easy to miss.

Once inside, the signs are done in a professional and breezy black and white. There is a lot of humor in the various sayings on the walls. They have bread options with their sandwiches, one of which, the seven grain wheat, makes Texas toast seem tiny. So of course that’s what I got, the seven grain, on a sandwich Jimmy John’s calls a Turkey Tom.

With the seven grain wheat, this sandwich weighs in at 610 calories, of which 320 come from the thick tasty bread alone. That’s too much bread for me these days, so I ate half of it. If I had come here at noon, I just would have eaten half the sandwich and saved the rest for 3 pm, but it was a little later in the day for me. The sandwich, though, in a word, was delicious.

The store itself can deliver, and they were pushing that when I entered. I was told they can deliver as far east as Peachtree Dunwoody. I’m not sure how far west they go. But if you’re in the mood for a decently priced, over the top sandwich with good, enormous bread, this place has the goods.

Verdict: Good, inexpensive, oversized sandwiches. Highly recommended.

Jimmy Johns
6064 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA
(404) 252-1052

Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwiches on Urbanspoon

