Consumer Reports is a magazine my mother loved, and one I subscribed to for a long time. They have specials occasionally, focusing on various topics. Recently they put out a special on food and health. I’ve bought it, like it, and highly recommend it. Their articles about things like cereals (Cheerios are #1 in one cereal chart) and relative rankings of supermarkets (Trader Joe’s #2, and Publix #3) seem to seriously jibe with supermarkets favored by the foodie and blogging community.

The Columbian restaurant, Cositas Ricas, has now closed. In the same strip mall, a new restaurant, Maya Fresh Grill, has been opening for at least a month now.

After a recent bout of foot problems, and a stay in the hospital, I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. I was surprised, to be honest, but I’ve been having my spate of issues with rich men’s diseases, the kind that come from a diet that’s rich in everything. And yes, diabetes sounds awful but it surely doesn’t stop anyone from eating. In fact, compared to my former eating styles, I’m being encouraged to eat more, but in smaller carefully managed portions. I was told to eat 4 meals a day, each meal with 3 carbohydrate exchanges. When I go out to eat, the recommendation has been to ask for a doggy bag up front and manage the portions I do eat. About the only thing I’ve been warned away from has been orange juice.

I’m not a breakfast eater and having 4 meals a day will be a change. And looking for restaurants friendly to diabetics will be something new, as opposed to looking for the “All you can eat” catfish emporium, or pigging out on that extra large pizza.  While there are a number of people who call themselves Diabetic Foodies (see here and here), I don’t see them eating out very much. It’s a new challenge, and in a peculiar way, a new opportunity.

This leads to a series of questions. How friendly are the various Atlanta bakeries to diabetics? Are their rolls small enough (or tearable enough) to be used for a meal or a snack? How diabetic friendly are Atlanta restaurants? How many even know diabetics exist?

Do you have diabetes? Do you have friends that have the disease? What kinds of accommodations have you made when going out with friends or relatives?

FnS.

