Chef Liu was once a small hole-in-the-wall restaurant on Buford Highway. Recently, it became a much bigger restaurant on Buford Highway by moving into a larger location on the north side of the same mall area. I know that Jennifer Zyman had been talking about the upcoming move for some time. When other foodies said it was a reality, and when my family headed in eight directions at once, I decided to drop in.

It’s a decent looking restaurant, with glass covered table tops, a few round tables with circular glass carousels, and some fancier enclosed places to sit off to one side. On the wall, near the cash register, is a black strip, covered with photos and names of dishes the restaurant serves. On square tables, there are also pictures of food with names, and almost every dish presented was something I’d never seen before. Or maybe I had in a dim-sum place, but couldn’t name it off the bat.

The leek pie tempted me the most, but it’s hard to do a review on just a leek pie. So I also ordered a cold dish, the sliced spicy beef, and also ordered lamb noodle soup,  because I’m fond of lamb.

My favorite dish was the cold beef. Though gelatinous at times, the spicing was very nice, with decent heat and a lingering flavor. I enjoyed the leek pie, bits of egg mixed in with transparent noodles and leek. The lamb noodle soup was decent. I liked the meat and the white noodles were chewy and delicious, but the broth was thin and tasteless until near the very end. Then, you could stir up bits of meat and fragments of noodle and they gave the broth the flavor it never had in the beginning.

Verdict: Good, interesting, inexpensive food. Recommended.

Chef Liu
5283 Buford Highway
Doraville, GA 30340
(770) 936-0532

Chef Liu on Urbanspoon

