It was a meeting sponsored by BuHi, and there were five bloggers and a guest there. No, no names given at this time. Live to Feast was there, and I was there. The author of Spoonfed (Atlanta) was there, as was Octosquid.  Everyone was interesting in their own way, everyone was civil, and BuHi asked us all to choose a spot and try some food.

Chong Qing Hot Pot is one of the vendors in the Chinatown food court. The man I spoke to was civil and the place reminded me so much of the restaurants in the Japantowns I’ve been visiting, with all the pictures of food. I’m still thinking about that bowl of soup, the meats, the spices, the vegetables, the mushrooms. Largely I think it was the variety and texture of mushrooms that made it so wonderful. The heat was enough to make me want rice at points, but by the end of the meal, the burn had all gone away. The name was simple enough: spicy hot pot, but the taste and textures were exceptional.

The serving size, incidentally, is enough to serve two, and was less than $10.00.

Verdict: Mean bowls of soup here. Highly recommended.

Chong Qing Hot Pot
5385 New Peachtree Rd
Chamblee, GA 30341
(770) 936-1379

Chong Qing Hot Pot on Urbanspoon

