One of the problems with elevating one component of a cuisine over another is that you can denigrate the portion of the cuisine that has been dismissed. You can then effectively regard the “lesser” product as “substandard” and ignore it critically. I don’t think that’s what Cliff Bostock had in mind with his comments on Pure Taqueria, but I’ve been reading way too much Robb Walsh to not catch the potential implication: foods originating in Atlanta, created by Hispanics, that are largely targeted at “gringos” are critically insignificant and to be ignored.

Nevertheless, there are a series of dishes in the Atlanta Tex-Mex restaurant repertoire I’ve not seen elsewhere. I have relatives (some of them are well known) all over Texas and spent my share of time in that state. Some of these Atlanta Hispanic dishes are good, and if they are not seen anywhere else, aren’t they then Atlanta originals?

I’m mostly interested in what Frontera Mex-Mex calls a Crazy Taco. Usually done with a marinated chicken and covered with lettuce and white cheese, it’s cheap and quite good. Other places call it a Taco Loco. But where did it come from? Was this created by Hispanic Atlantans? Is it as original as chop suey was once believed to be?

Are we ignoring a regional original in our haste to be “authentic“? I don’t have time to research this during the holidays but I thought I would toss out the question and let it circulate among Atlanta food bloggers. I’ll pick up on this after the Thanksgiving holidays.

