Phnom Penh is a half block south of the Main Street – Highway 29 intersection in Tucker, and has been noted by other reviewers, the sign out front still says “Beef Stix.” The restaurant looks tiny from the outside, and in fact is pretty small. Still, there are pretty photos of Angkor Wat, pretty wood carvings on the walls, and nice looking, functional chairs and tables inside.

img_0355

img_0356

Staff is spare but helpful. If you order an entree here, you’re given the choice of a soup or an egg roll to start. Of the two I prefer the lemon grass soup, lighter and less oily than the roll. There are also appetizers available, including vegetable rolls, and a tasty seafood salad. I liked the salad, which has a lot of flavor but has only a small amount of pepper, compared to the Thai equivalent.

img_0357

lemon grass soup.

vegetable rolls

vegetable rolls

seafood salad

seafood salad

We’ve tried three different entrees on two separate visits. My daughter tried their chicken stix, my wife their lo mein, and I’ve had the spicy basil chicken both times I’ve come. All the dishes were good, but I distinctly preferred the last dish. The dark red-brown broth the spicy basil chicken comes in is so appetizing if I had that and white rice, I’d be quite happy.

The chicken stix came with a side of rice and white and orange pickles.

Chicken stix. One kebab has been eaten already.

Chicken stix. One kebab has been eaten already.

lo mein

lo mein

spicy basil chicken

spicy basil chicken

Service, in my experience, has always been good.

Verdict: A totally worthy addition to Atlanta’s ethnic scene and a nice addition to the northeast side of the city. Very Highly Recommended.

Phnom Penh
4059 Lawrenceville Hwy
Tucker, GA 30084
(770) 493-3598

Phnom Penh on Urbanspoon

