Nori Nori, born on the same site where Badayori disappeared, is a nice restaurant. Part of a group of restaurants mostly named Minado, Nori Nori is offering a sushi buffet of reasonable quality to Atlantans once again. I’ve been here twice so far, once alone and once with my family.  Both times were at lunch, as weekday lunch here is $14, and weekend lunch is $16. There is a $9 premium for eating at dinner, for which crab legs and sashimi are added to the menu.

Personally, I’d just as soon avoid watching people eat nothing but crab legs.

The restaurant is large inside, plenty of seating mostly in the form of separate tables. There are six stations where food is kept. The first is a Robata grill, where they keep soups (miso, crab, udon, etc) and also grilled foods. My wife tried the udon and liked it quite a bit.

short rib, grilled shrimp and squid kebabs.

short rib, grilled shrimp and squid kebabs.

The second station contains, if I recall my waiter correctly, “40 different kinds of sushi”. They have a lot of outrageously colored rolls on one end, nigiri on the other end. The nigiri aren’t as thick as a good place that makes sushi to order, but neither is it dollar sushi thin. Most of the highly colored rolls are using colored rice to add the brightness, and are stuffed with vegetables of one kind or another. Since the meal has a fixed price, you can try as many sushi as you want, and find out which ones you really do like.

assorted nigiri.

assorted nigiri.

assorted rolls, plain and fancy.

assorted rolls, plain and fancy.

The third station contains wasabi, ginger, pickles and starts the salads. The fourth station contains more salads. Since Badayori had such outrageous salads, I was hoping that Nori Nori would try to have an impressive spread. They didn’t do badly at all.

Pickles and edamame.

Pickles and edamame.

salads - left: ceviche, mid: soba with salmon, right: calamari, top:tomato, bot:cucumber with shrimp

salads - left: ceviche, mid: soba with salmon, right: calamari, top: tomato, bot: cucumber with shrimp

The fifth station contains entrees of various kinds, tempura and teriyaki dishes, skewered salmon, mussels, and yakisoba. I didn’t try the yakisoba but my wife enjoyed it.

grilled salmon kebab, green mussel, and beef teriyaki

grilled salmon kebab, green mussel, tofu salad, and beef teriyaki

The sixth station is a collection of fruits and desserts. My daughter tried their green tea ice cream, which she enjoyed. The fruit tart was just okay. The mini cream puff wasn’t bad at all.

Part of the dessert and fruit station.

Part of the dessert and fruit station.

The service was really good. Waitstaff are dressed in black and are attentive.

I liked Nori Nori, my wife liked it and my daughter certainly enjoyed it as well. My wife is half Japanese and we do look for places where we could take my Japanese mother-in-law. I suspect this could be one of them.

Verdict: Very good buffet. Lunch is a bargain. At dinner you pay a “crab leg tax”. Highly Recommended.

Nori Nori
6690 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
(404) 257-1288

Nori Nori on Urbanspoon

