A coworker, Thomas, recommended I try the place. He was high enough on Gimza he gave me a menu and circled the leek salad. I had never tried Polish cuisine before, so I thought I’d give it a shot on a weekend. Another coworker, Veronica, told me that it was “very good”.

It’s not that hard to get to. Head north on Peachtree Industrial from 285 or Jimmy Carter, turn left on Medlock Bridge Road, and at the intersection of Medlock and Spalding, the restaurant will be on the left hand size of the road. The restaurant has a web site which contains a menu.  Before I went to Gimza, I looked for reviews and found one by the Blissful Glutton. I marked down on my menu items that looked good, so we had some hints before going in.

Once inside, the restaurant is very pretty. There is a bar on  one side, with drinks in cubbyholes all the way to the roof. The chairs have a mahogany cast, the tables a pleasant dark brown. The menu is normally printed, and placed in sleeves, but this day they didn’t have time. It was a little awkward reading the new menu.

I ordered the leek salad that Thomas recommended and the cucumber salad that the Blissful Glutton recommended. My daughter ordered the apple and mint drink. My wife took a long time before settling on the pork cutlet. I had pierogis, the cheese and onion ones that were recommended, and my wife also ordered the mushroom pierogis. My daughter said she didn’t want an entree of her own and got herself a dessert (a sorbet, as I recall).

Both the salads were good. The leek salad had some pickles in it, and the flavor reminded me of one of my mother’s older salad recipes, just this one was a little darker in flavor and had hints of egg in it. The cucumber salad was light and tasty. The hit of the meal were the mushroom pierogis, which everyone tried and then went for seconds. The pork cutlet was, my wife decided, just okay.

I ordered some soup at the end, a vegetable and barley soup. When it came, it was a light broth, with chunks of potato and carrot, and cracked barley. I like the “mouth feel” of grains and I’ve been growing fond of barley. The soup was no exception. I recommend it.

The waiter was exceptionally good. He was soft spoken and aware we were new. He explained everything as best he good and encouraged us to take the remainder of our food home. The service was a strong suit in our visit.

In summary, Gimza is a good restaurant and they serve good food.  It is not, however, eye catching, flamboyant stuff. Other cuisines, such as Japanese, are very aware of color and texture and the food is both art and a meal. But if you have a taste for original European recipes, Gimza will provide that.

Gimza Polish Restaurant on Urbanspoon

