It’s a bar in Little Five Points, much longer than it is wide. There isn’t much to it physically, a couple tables up front, a long bar, a couple tables in back. Outside, it looks like another small place where locals go to medicate their problems away. It’s only when you’re inside that Porter begins to shine.

I counted 36 taps the day I came, and there wasn’t a dull beer in any of the taps. The beer selection is wicked good, with no filler. Further, given the diverse and exotic nature of the brews, the drinks are fairly priced. The typical tap beer ranges from around 4 to 6.5 dollars.

Brooklyn Brewery’s saison.

Some scallops. Plenty of potatoes.

I had the cheese plate and some scallops. I thought both were quite good. The serving size was small, and the price a couple dollars higher than I would have liked for that serving size. A neighbor ordered calamari, and that seemed a better food deal than what I ate.

But really, the star here is the alcohol. Work through the list of bottled beers sometime. Maybe you’ll find a beer you’ve been looking for, for months. I sure did. Will I be back? Very likely, about as soon as my family decides it needs to window shop the stores of Little Five Points once again.

Porter Beer Bar
1156 Euclid Ave
Atlanta, GA 30307
(404) 223-0393

The Porter on Urbanspoon

