Alison’s Restaurant  sits next to Wasabi House near the corner of Chamblee Dunwoody and Mount Vernon. It’s in the same mall area as Ye Olde Dunwoody Tavern, and is, if anything, even further back and harder to see than the Tavern. I would have missed it that day, but they had a blackboard announcing lunch specials. I walked over to see them, was intrigued and stepped inside.

It’s very quiet inside. Pop tunes from the big band era set  the tone.  There is outdoor seating, and good seating by some large windows. A trio of women eating lunch naturally migrated towards the sun. A man using Wifi of some kind – not sure if it was his personal G4 or restaurant Wifi – was surfing the web on the bar, towards the back.

I had one of  the lunch specials that day, mussels with a fra diavalo sauce. I’m a sucker for spicy marinaras, and ate about  half my mussels before realizing I’m a blogger and supposed to take pictures of food before I eat it. Oops.

It was good, as was a Greek salad I devoured before I could photograph it too.

Nothing is very expensive here, and  many of the dishes are calorie limited. The nice sunny seating would make this a great spring spot, and the European influenced menu a respite from burgers and sandwiches at lunch. I suspect that as people find out about it, it’s going to gather a lunch crowd, people wanting some quiet, some elegance, some taste. Alison’s seems able to serve up all that.

Alison’s Restaurant
5500 Chamblee Dunwoody Road, Suite 3A
Dunwoody, GA 30338
(770) 395-0707

Alison's Restaurant on Urbanspoon

