Fresh Market has 6 locations in the Atlanta metro area. Personally, I’ve seen a Fresh Market in Dunwoody and there is one in Suwanee, on the path people like me might take from Snellville to Gourmandises (i.e. north from the Sugarloaf – Peachtree Industrial intersection). It’s a high end grocery store, in the mold of a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, but not as intimidating as Whole Foods and larger in general than Trader Joe’s. It’s a nice mix, and one day I went shopping at the one in Dunwoody, to pick up some items I could eat at work.

Not pictured are the miniature roses I purchased, pretty and inexpensive. I picked up some Icelandic style yogurt, because I had never had that style before. It was a thick product, tasting a lot like the Greek yogurt becoming common now, and because the brand avoids high fructose corn syrup, the sweet was also subdued. The cooking carrots were notable in how sweet they were.  They had 8g of carbs per half cup instead of the more normal 6g of carbs per half cup.

I went looking for maitake mushrooms, but found none. In March 2009, Hokto Kinoko, a wild mushroom vendor from Japan, declared March 2009 Maitake Madness Month. I guess I’ll have to wait a few weeks and see if Maitake Madness makes it to Georgia.

For those who haven’t been reading the back and forth on my “About” pages, my boonie peppers are alive but have no (or few) living leaves at present. I’m hoping this cold snap ends by the end of the month. I want to put my peppers back outside and let them grow. They’re not getting nearly enough sun through these winter months. I really do need the nights to get above 40 degrees F to safely take my boonies outside.

