Flavor Cafe Bakery is easy to miss. It’s near the corner of Johnson Ferry Road and Roswell Road, on the left hand side as you travel north down Roswell, but it’s behind a Wendy’s and opposite the eye catching Sandy Springs Plaza. That’s unfortunate, as they offer good deals on sandwiches and salads at lunch, and it’s a pretty place in which to eat.

img_0803

What attracted me to this place is the diet potential it has. I’m looking for sandwich shops where I can eat a low calorie lunch. I want portion control and I also want flavor and variety. This bakery has several good looking salads and a lot of choice in sandwiches. Their menu for lunch, for example, is available as a pdf. What’s more they have a half and half special they call a Any Way Meal. That’s what I was aiming for when I arrived.

Of course it will take a certain amount of willpower to diet here. They have some good looking cakes and muffins and other sweets. They have breads and you see them all at the counter where you place your order. Once you order they give you a stand with a cardboard square and a number on it, and you take this to your table and wait.

It wasn’t that long before I had my half of a grilled vegetarian sandwich and half of the eponymous flavor salad. It is a pretty impressive amount of food for a half and half special.

img_0805

img_0807

The sandwich was good but was really juicy. I was using a lot of napkins while eating it. The salad had nice greens, nice pistachios, nice fresh strawberries. I liked it a great deal. The bread on the side was good eating, with a nice solid crust.

I haven’t been here for dinner, so I can’t speak of this place under those circumstances, but this is a fine lunch spot.

Flavor Cafe Bakery
236 Johnson Ferry Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
(404) 255-7220

Flavor Cafe Bakery on Urbanspoon

