L’Thai Organic Cuisine and Wine Bar is the kind of place that easily flies under the radar.  It’s in an inconspicuous corner of a strip mall dominated by Pufferbelly’s, behind a Home Depot, and in a town where the most celebrated restaurant is Matthew’s Cafeteria. But it has a few notable reviews to its credit, including this one from Jennifer Zyman, and its use of brown rice drew my attention as my wife has been converting my family from white rice to brown in recent years.

lto_outside

lto_sign

Inside, it is pretty, with a lot of trellises, and vining plants to add green to the look of the restaurant.  The waitresses are clothed in lavender dresses from neck to ankle. Inside, there are booths, tables, and a small bar. At night, the lighting is fairly dim, and that will show in the photos of the food.

They have a heat scale in L’Thai I was very pleased to see. You can get food mild, medium, hot and “Thai hot”. And yes, this kind of scale is both useful and good. I’ve had both Thai and Malaysian food that was too hot for me to eat, and I’ve also had restaurants that simply would not spice food to my taste. I tried their “medium” on a dish that can use heat but not too much, and the green curry I ordered was also a medium heat dish. L’Thai’s medium is a nice sneaky heat that will catch up to you at the end of a meal. I suspect their hot will satisfy most Texans (or would be Texans), though I have yet to try it. Most of their food is served “mild” unless you request the additional spices.

The first dish I tried was their seafood soup, called Poo Gub Sarai-Talay. There is no heat in this dish, the flavors are mild and it was a nice way to start a meal.

lto_soup

Their spicy seafood salad (Yum Talay) was delicious. I haven’t had one this good in a while. This was good enough I took the salad home for my wife a few days later.

lto_salad

The seafood salad convinced me to try one more dish, their chicken green curry. It also was very good, and reasonably spiced. The rice that accompanied the curry, though called a brown rice, is actually a mixture of brown and red rice. The color contrast is noticeable and pleasing to the eye.

lto_curry

Service is very good at this restaurant.

Verdict: A welcome addition to the cuisine of Tucker, Georgia. Highly recommended.

4880 Lawrenceville Hwy Suite 14-16
Tucker, GA 30084
(770) 491-9948

L'Thai Organic Cuisine and Wine Bar on Urbanspoon

